This content is from: Home

The 2017 Trading Tech 40: John Mackay (Mack) Gill

< Wall Street's Nerds: The World's Most Powerful Trading Executives17. John Mackay (Mack) GillChief Executive OfficerMillenniumIT – London Stock Exchange GroupLast year: 18

Market technology providers routinely push the envelope in the rush to execute trades in the smallest possible fraction of a second. The 800-employee, Sri Lanka–based MillenniumIT, which London Stock Exchange Group acquired in 2009 and has been headed by John Mackay (Mack) Gill since 2013, developed one of the world's fastest exchange platforms for the LSE and has more than 40 client sites around the world using its systems. It ensures extremely low latency by deploying field-programmable gate array (FPGA) hardware in operations such as the LSE Group Ticker Plant.

But high-performance technologies aren't just for the front end of the transaction cycle. With the Millennium PostTrade clearing, settlement, and depository platform, the company relies on graphics processing units (GPUs) to deliver real-time, cross-asset analytic and risk management capabilities. Having completed a sizable installation of PostTrade last year at the Singapore Exchange, MillenniumIT is taking it up a notch with the next-generation platform now in progress for the LSEG-controlled clearinghouse LCH. "Real-time capabilities will be extended to stress testing, backtesting and member-driven 'what if' scenarios, providing a comprehensive and flexible real-time enterprisewide risk management framework," LSEG said in an announcement last fall. "Clearinghouses are systemically important entities that cut across many financial institutions," notes Gill, 47, who spent 19 years with various units of SunGard Data Systems before becoming CEO of MillenniumIT. "Improved analytics in real time, with enhanced margining and netting capabilities, are important tools for central counterparties such as LCH."

 The 2017 Trading Tech 40Click below to view profiles
1. Richard PragerBlackRock2. Chris IsaacsonBats Global Markets3. Bradley PetersonNasdaq4. Brad LevyMarkitSERV5. Dan KeeganCiti
6. Glenn LeskoBloomberg Tradebook7. Bryan DurkinCME Group8. Mayur KapaniIntercontinental Exchange9. Mike BlumKCG Holdings10. Raj MahajanGoldman Sachs Group
11. Ronald DePoaloFidelity Institutional12. Nick ThemelisMarketAxess Holdings13. Jenny KnottNEX Optimisation14. Billy HultTradeweb Markets15. Rob ParkIEX Group
16. Bill Chow & Richard LeungHong Kong Exchanges and Clearing17. John Mackay (Mack) GillMillenniumIT18. Paul HamillCitadel Securities19. Eric NollConvergex20. Veronica AugustssonCinnober Financial Technology
21. Tyler Moeller & Joshua WalskyBroadway Technology22. Alasdair HaynesAquis Exchange23. Gaurav SuriArcesium24. Manoj NarangMana Partners25. Michael Chin & Neill PenneyThomson Reuters
26. Robert SloanS3 Partners27. Anton Katz & Stephen MockAQR Capital Management28. Donal ByrneCorvil29. Stu TaylorAlgomi30. Alfred EskandarPortware
31. Steven RandichFinancial Industry Regulatory Authority32. R. Cromwell CoulsonOTC Markets Group33. Peter MaragosDash Financial34. John FawcettQuantopian35. Donald
Ross III
PDQ Enterprises
36. Jennifer NayarVela Trading Technologies37. Dan RajuTradier38. Susan EstesOpenDoor Trading39. David MercerLMAX Exchange40. Oki MatsumotoMonex Group