This content is from: Research

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25: Mike Enzi

No. 11. Mike Enzi, Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security

11. Mike Enzi
Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security

As chairman of the Senate subcommittee on primary health and retirement security, Wyoming Republican Mike Enzi is the man to watch regarding any changes to the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. and private retirement plans. Last year Enzi introduced the Pension and Budget Integrity Act to take PBGC premiums out of the federal budget process. Supporters say this move will bring accountability to the pension insurance system and make plans more affordable. The act would eliminate incentives for legislators to raise premiums to pay for nonessential items. Enzi, 73, has long fought for retirement security: In 2015, as a member of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, he explored using multiemployer plans as retirement savings vehicles for small businesses. — Julie Segal

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25

1. Andy Puzder
Secretary of Labor
2. Bruce Rauner
Governor of Illinois
3. Betsy DeVos
Secretary of Education
4. Laura & John Arnold
Laura and John Arnold Foundation
5. Steven Mnuchin
Secretary of the Treasury
6. Wilbur Ross
Secretary of Commerce
7. Tani Cantil-Sakauye
California Chief Justice
8. Paul Ryan
Speaker of the House
9. Anthony Scaramucci
Founder, SkyBridge Capital
10. Kevin de León
California State Senator and President Pro Tempore
11. Mike Enzi
Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security
12. Steve Sweeney
New Jersey State Senate
13. Jerry Brown
Governor of California
14. Corey Lewandowski
Co-founder, Avenue Strategies
15. Paul Singer
Elliott Management Corp.
16. Randel Johnson
Senior Vice President, Labor, Immigration, and Employee Benefits, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
17. Joe Manchin
U.S. Senator
18. Kenneth Feinberg
Founder and managingpartner, Feinberg Rozen
19. Scott Walker
Governor of Wisconsin
20. Richard Trumka
President, AFL-CIO
21. Mike Rawlings
Mayor of Dallas
22. Elizabeth Warren
U.S. Senator
23. Kent Mason
Davis & Harman
24. Bernie Sanders
U.S. Senator
25. Randi Weingarten
President, American Federation of Teachers

Related Content