This content is from: Portfolio

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25: Kent Mason

No. 23 Kent Mason, Partner, Davis & Harman

23. Kent Mason
Davis & Harman

Since 1988, Kent Mason, a partner at law firm Davis & Harman, has lobbied on behalf of clients with vested interests in the retirement savings industry. Among the 16 names on Mason’s current roster are the American Benefits Council, whose mission is to shape corporate benefits policy, and financial services giants State Street Corp., TIAA, and Vanguard Group. Last year these clients helped earn Davis & Harman $1.2 million in fees, according to the nonprofit Center for Responsive Politics. Mason, 62, testifies for his clients before the House of Representatives, the Senate, the Department of Labor, the Internal Revenue Service, the Treasury Department, and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. His recent public statements have included scathing criticism of the reissued DoL fiduciary rule and support for multiple employer retirement plans, which allow unrelated small companies to offer savings plans more economically. — Frances Denmark

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25

1. Andy Puzder
Secretary of Labor
2. Bruce Rauner
Governor of Illinois
3. Betsy DeVos
Secretary of Education
4. Laura & John Arnold
Laura and John Arnold Foundation
5. Steven Mnuchin
Secretary of the Treasury
6. Wilbur Ross
Secretary of Commerce
7. Tani Cantil-Sakauye
California Chief Justice
8. Paul Ryan
Speaker of the House
9. Anthony Scaramucci
Founder, SkyBridge Capital
10. Kevin de León
California State Senator and President Pro Tempore
11. Mike Enzi
Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security
12. Steve Sweeney
New Jersey State Senate
13. Jerry Brown
Governor of California
14. Corey Lewandowski
Co-founder, Avenue Strategies
15. Paul Singer
Elliott Management Corp.
16. Randel Johnson
Senior Vice President, Labor, Immigration, and Employee Benefits, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
17. Joe Manchin
U.S. Senator
18. Kenneth Feinberg
Founder and managingpartner, Feinberg Rozen
19. Scott Walker
Governor of Wisconsin
20. Richard Trumka
President, AFL-CIO
21. Mike Rawlings
Mayor of Dallas
22. Elizabeth Warren
U.S. Senator
23. Kent Mason
Davis & Harman
24. Bernie Sanders
U.S. Senator
25. Randi Weingarten
President, American Federation of Teachers

Related Content