Citadel, Two Sigma, Mudrick Among Finalists for Institutional Investor’s Hedge Fund Industry Awards

Institutional Investor and Alpha today unveiled the manager finalists for their annual Hedge Fund Awards; winners announced June 21.


Last year was a challenging one for the hedge fund industry. Still, many managers were able to shine.

Credit was among the bright spots, and few managers were more brilliant than Jason Mudrick. His namesake firm, Mudrick Capital Management, rose from a dismal 2015 to post 2016 returns of 38.9 percent for its Mudrick Distressed Opportunity Fund, according to data from HSBC. Such outperformance — the average hedge fund was up only 5.43 percent, according to the HFRI Fund Weighted Composite index — puts Mudrick among the Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year finalists of Institutional Investor and Institutional Investor’s Alpha magazine’s annual Hedge Fund Awards. The four other contenders in this category are BlackGold Capital Management, Brigade Capital Management, Contrarian Capital Management, and Strategic Value Partners.

After an astonishingly good first full year out of the gate, Chris Rokos’s London-based Rokos Capital Management is a finalist for both Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year, which honors firms that have been in existence for five years or less, and Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year. Whereas Rokos’s alma mater Brevan Howard Asset Management was only able to post results of 3 percent in its flagship fund for the year, sources say Rokos was up 20 percent in 2016. The other candidates for Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year are Caxton Associates, Citadel, Discovery Capital Management, and Graham Capital Management.

Citadel is also a finalist for Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of The Year. The other finalists in that category are Angelo, Gordon & Co.; Baupost Group; CQS; and Two Sigma Investments.

Institutional Investor’s Hedge Fund Industry Award finalists are chosen through a rigorous review process. A call for nominations from the industry is followed by research and reporting on the part of editorial staff, with final decisions made by an editorial review committee. The finalists will now be voted on by industry participants, with the winners announced at a gala dinner and ceremony taking place June 21 at the Mandarin Oriental in New York.

For more information about the dinner or to request a ballot, please visit the event web site.

In the coming days, Institutional Investor will announce the Hedge Fund Allocator Finalists, as well as two industry Lifetime Achievement honorees. The Hedge Fund Rising Stars — a list of 30 rising stars in the hedge fund industry, also honored at the dinner — will be unveiled at the end of the month.

Following is a complete list of the 2017 hedge fund manager finalists. The names can also be found on the Hedge Fund Awards web site.

Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Angelo, Gordon & Co.

Baupost Group



Two Sigma

Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Junto Capital Management

Key Square Group

Magnolia Road Capital

Rokos Capital Management

Westfield Capital Management

Large Fund-of-Hedge-Funds Manager of the Year


Blackstone Group

Morgan Stanley Investment Management

Pacific Alternative Asset Management Co.

Rock Creek Group

Boutique Fund-of-Hedge-Funds Manager of the Year

Gapstow Capital Partners

Greenlight Masters


Ironwood Capital Management

Silver Creek Capital Management

Outsourced CIO of the Year

Appomattox Advisory

Hall Capital Partners


Perella Weinberg Partners

Summit Rock Advisors

Hedge Fund GP Investor of the Year

Affiliated Managers Group

Blackstone Group

Dyal Capital Partners

Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Paloma Partners

Equity-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Carlson Capital

Impala Asset Management

Proxima Capital Management

Quantitative Investment Management

Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

BlackGold Capital Management

Brigade Capital Management

Contrarian Capital Management

Mudrick Capital Management

Strategic Value Partners

Hybrid Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Caspian Capital

Fortress Investment Group

GoldenTree Asset Management

Marathon Asset Management

Värde Partners

Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Angelo, Gordon & Co.

BFAM Partners


Halcyon Capital Management

RBC Global Asset Management

Relative-Value Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Axonic Capital

One William Street Capital Management

Pacific Investment Management Co.

Tilden Park Capital Management

Whitebox Advisors

Activist Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Blue Harbour Group

Greylock Capital Management

TCI Fund Management

Toscafund Asset Management

Trian Partners

Event-Driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Beach Point Capital Management

Gates Capital Management

Elliott Management Corp.

Owl Creek Asset Management

P. Schoenfeld Asset Management

Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

Caxton Associates


Element Capital Management

Discovery Capital Management

Graham Capital Management

Rokos Capital Management

Quantitative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

AQR Capital Management

Quantedge Capital

Renaissance Technologies

Systematica Investments

Two Sigma Investments