This content is from: Portfolio

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25: Scott Walker

No. 19 Scott Walker, Governor of Wisconsin

19. Scott Walker
Governor of Wisconsin

When Scott Walker was elected governor of Wisconsin in 2010, it was the beginning of the end for the state’s public sector unions. The following year, to close a $3.6 billion budget gap, Walker pushed Act 10 through the legislature, eliminating collective bargaining rights for unionized state workers and doubling their mandated pension contributions. The Republican governor was hoping to replace the defined benefit pension that covers all state employees with a 401(k)-style savings plan, but he changed his mind after learning that Wisconsin’s system is fully funded and widely acknowledged as the best in the U.S. Walker survived a 2012 recall election that was held as protests against his antiunion actions mounted. With $30 million in funding from the Koch brothers and other GOP donors, the 49-year-old governor still has national ambitions. His model for taking on unions is one GOP leaders are looking to. — Frances Denmark

The 2017 Pension Political Power 25

1. Andy Puzder
Secretary of Labor
2. Bruce Rauner
Governor of Illinois
3. Betsy DeVos
Secretary of Education
4. Laura & John Arnold
Laura and John Arnold Foundation
5. Steven Mnuchin
Secretary of the Treasury
6. Wilbur Ross
Secretary of Commerce
7. Tani Cantil-Sakauye
California Chief Justice
8. Paul Ryan
Speaker of the House
9. Anthony Scaramucci
Founder, SkyBridge Capital
10. Kevin de León
California State Senator and President Pro Tempore
11. Mike Enzi
Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security
12. Steve Sweeney
New Jersey State Senate
13. Jerry Brown
Governor of California
14. Corey Lewandowski
Co-founder, Avenue Strategies
15. Paul Singer
Elliott Management Corp.
16. Randel Johnson
Senior Vice President, Labor, Immigration, and Employee Benefits, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
17. Joe Manchin
U.S. Senator
18. Kenneth Feinberg
Founder and managingpartner, Feinberg Rozen
19. Scott Walker
Governor of Wisconsin
20. Richard Trumka
President, AFL-CIO
21. Mike Rawlings
Mayor of Dallas
22. Elizabeth Warren
U.S. Senator
23. Kent Mason
Davis & Harman
24. Bernie Sanders
U.S. Senator
25. Randi Weingarten
President, American Federation of Teachers

Related Content