This content is from: Innovation


Canyon Partners’ Joshua S. Friedman and Mitchel R. Julis are this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients at 12th annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards.

Michael Peltz­­
Institutional Investor

New York, May 1, 2014 Institutional Investor awards ­­­Canyon Partners’ Joshua S. Friedman and Mitchel R. Julis with its manager Lifetime Achievement Award in the 12th annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards, along with 57 manager award nominees in 13 categories.

Institutional Investor is also proud to announce 40 investor and consultant nominees in 10 distinct award categories.

All will be honored and winners will be awarded at a dinner and ceremony at the Mandarin Oriental in New York on Thursday, June 26, 2014.

2014 Investor & Consultant Categories & Nominees:

Large Public Plan of the Year
• Connecticut Retirement Plans and Trust Funds
• New York City Retirement Systems
• Pennsylvania State Employees Retirement System
• Texas County & District Retirement System

Small Public Plan of the Year
• Fire & Police Pension Association of Colorado
• Orange County Employees Retirement System
• City of Philadelphia Municipal Retirement System
• Sacramento County Employees’ Retirement System

Corporate Plan of the Year
• Alcatel-Lucent Investment Management Corp.
• General Motors
• United Parcel Service of America
• World Bank

Foundation of the Year
• Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
• Howard Hughes Medical Institute
• Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies
• W. K. Kellogg Foundation

Endowment of the Year
• Bowdoin College
• University of Pennsylvania
• University of Richmond/Spider Management Co.
• Williams College

Healthcare System of the Year
• Ascension Investment Management
• Cook Children’s Health Care System
• Mercy Health
• Mount Sinai Medical Center

Sovereign Wealth Fund of the Year
• Abu Dhabi Investment Authority
• China Investment Corporation
• New Zealand Superannuation Fund
• Temasek Holdings

Family Office of the Year
• Bass Family Office
• Duquesne Family Office
• Ocean Road Advisors
• Silver Rock Financial

Hedge Fund Consultant of the Year
• Gregory Dowling, Fund Evaluation Group
• B. Grady Durham, Monticello Associates
• David Jallits, Cambridge Associates
• James Treanor, Jeffrey Slocum & Associates

Outsourced CIO of the Year
• Hall Capital Partners
• Makena Capital Management
• New Providence Asset Management
• Perella Weinberg Partners

2014 Manager Categories & Nominees:

Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Appaloosa Management
• Baupost Group
• Citadel
• Fortress Investment Group
• Paulson & Co

Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Andurand Capital Management
• Falcon Edge Capital
• Portland Hill Capital
• Tourbillon Capital Partners
• Tiger Legatus Capital

Large Fund of Hedge Funds Manager of the Year
• Goldman Sachs Hedge Fund Strategies
• J.P. Morgan Alternative Asset Management
• Morgan Stanley Alternative Investment Partners
• Pacific Alternative Asset Management Co
• Permal Group

Small Fund of Hedge Funds Manager of the Year
• Alternative Investment Management
• Antarctica Asset Management
• Lazard Asset Management
• Merritt Capital Investment Advisors
• Woori Absolute Partners

Early Stage Hedge Fund Investor of the Year
• Ascalon Capital
• Blackstone Alternative Asset Management
• Goldman Sachs Hedge Fund Strategies
• Mariner Investment Group
• Reservoir Capital Group

Equity-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Glenview Capital Management
• Omega Advisors
• Passport Capital
• Senvest Capital
• Toscafund Asset Management

Event-Driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Appaloosa Management
• Litespeed Management
• Paulson & Co
• Perry Capital
• VR Capital Group

Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Canyon Capital Advisors
• Contrarian Capital Management
• Davidson Kempner Capital Management
• Silver Point Capital
• York Capital Management

Hybrid Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Apollo
• Centerbridge Partners
• Fortress Investment Group
• GSO Capital Partners
• Strategic Value Partners

Macro-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year, Systematic
• Lyxor Asset Management
• Renaissance Technologies
• Two Sigma Investments/Two Sigma Advisers
• Winton Capital Management

Macro-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year, Discretionary
• Caxton Associates
• Discovery Capital Management
• Fortress Investment Group
• Moore Capital Management
• Odey Asset Management

Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Angelo, Gordon & Co
• Citadel
• D. E. Shaw & Co
• Eton Park Capital Management
• Owl Creek Asset Management

Relative Value Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
• Aristeia Capital
• Lazard Asset Management
• Jabre Capital Partners
• Paulson & Co
• Pine River Capital Management

Investor honorees and the Hedge Fund Rising Stars will be announced in the coming weeks. Please visit the awards website for additional information:

For information on sponsoring or attending the awards, please contact:

Patricia Bertucci, 212-224-3890, or

Tracey Redmond, 212-224-3239,

Tweet us at #iiawards

About Institutional Investor
Now in its fifth decade, Institutional Investor has consistently distinguished itself among the world’s foremost financial publications with groundbreaking journalism and incisive writing that provides “must read” intelligence for a global audience. This award-winning magazine is essential reading for the world’s leading financiers, corporate executives and government officials, who rely on the breadth and depth of coverage that have made Institutional Investor such a premier publication.

About the Hedge Fund Industry Awards
For the past 12 years, the Hedge Fund Industry Awards have recognized the people and firms across the industry whose innovation, achievements and contributions made them stand out among their peers. Award honorees, nominees and winners are chosen by the editorial staff of Institutional Investor magazine based on their market intelligence, performance data and additional information received from the industry following a public call for nominations and survey of investors. www.hedge

Related Content