This content is from: Portfolio

The 2016 Trading Technology 40: Jennifer Nayar

No. 38 Jennifer Nayar, Chief Executive Officer, Vela

Jennifer Nayar
Chief Executive Officer

A typical teenager might edge her way into the working world by babysitting or waitressing. Jennifer Nayar, to help support her single-parent family, left school at 16 to take a job at the London Stock Exchange. “That was when I first got into things that were electronically confirmed, as opposed to telexes,” Nayar says of her experience working in posttrade services at the LSE. Now 48, she went on to management positions at Thomson Electronic Settlements Group (and its successor company Omgeo), Mercator Software, NYFIX, NYSE Euronext and Goldman Sachs Group trading technology spin-off REDI Holdings, where she was chief of staff for 14 months before being named CEO of SR Labs last June. A developer of high-performance trading and market-data-feed software, New York–based SR Labs was founded in 2007 by former Merrill Lynch & Co. senior consultant Srinivasan Ramiah. It bulked up in 2014 by acquiring Wombat Financial Software from Intercontinental Exchange’s NYSE Technologies unit and before Nayar arrived was helmed by e-trading entrepreneur Richard Korhammer (No. 39 last year). Nayar has added key executives, including BlackRock and NYFIX veteran Christopher Nagy as CFO. In January the company announced new feed handlers for the Australian Securities Exchange, Bombay Stock Exchange and Nasdaq Futures, among other markets, and said growth initiatives this year are focused on the Asia-Pacific region and fixed income, currencies and commodities. “Ten or 15 years ago, we had a year to develop a product rollout; now we’re down to days or weeks to get changes out to a client,” Nayar observes. “Now that I’m in the driver’s seat, and coming from a market-data background, I’m very keen to see used all of the data we have here at our fingertips.”

2016 Trading Technology 40

1. Raymond Tierney III
2. Richard Prager
3. Chris Isaacson
BATS Global Markets
4. Jonathan Ross
KCG Holdings
5. Bradley Peterson
6. Brad Levy
7. Dan Keegan
8. Ronald DePoalo
Fidelity Institutional
9. Raj Mahajan
Goldman Sachs Group
10. Ari Studnitzer
CME Group
11. Mayur Kapani
Intercontinental Exchange
12. Gerald O’Connell
CBOE Holdings
13. Nicholas Themelis
MarketAxess Holdings
14. Gil Mandelzis
EBS BrokerTec (ICAP)
15. Bill Chow and Richard Leung
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
16. Rob Park
IEX Group
17. Philip Weisberg
Thomson Reuters
18. John Mackay (Mack) Gill
19. Robert Cornish
International Securities Exchange
20. Paul Hamill
Citadel Securities
21. Eric Noll
22. Tyler Moeller and Joshua Walsky
Broadway Technology
23. Rishi Nangalia
REDI Holdings
24. Veronica Augustsson
Cinnober Financial Technology
25. Alasdair Haynes
Aquis Exchange
26. Manoj Narang
Mana Partners
27. Gaurav Suri
28. Robert Sloan
S3 Partners
29. Anton Katz and Stephen Mock
AQR Capital Mgmt
30. Stu Taylor
31. D. Keith Ross Jr.
PDQ Enterprises
32. Donal Byrne
33. Alfred Eskandar
34. R. Cromwell Coulson
OTC Markets Group
35. Masayuki Hosaka
36. Peter Maragos and David Karat
Dash Financial
37. Amar Kuchinad
38. Jennifer Nayar
SR Labs
39. Dave Snowdon
40. Dan Raju

Related Content