This content is from: Portfolio

The 2016 Trading Technology 40: D. Keith Ross Jr.

< The 2016 Trading Technology 4031D. Keith Ross Jr.Chairman and Chief Executive OfficerPDQ EnterprisesPNR

At the start of this century, after more than a decade as a floor trader at the Chicago Board Options Exchange and 20 years of trading for himself, D. Keith Ross Jr. decided it was time for a change. He went to work for algorithmic trading pioneer Getco, serving as CEO from 2002 to 2005. By then convinced of how thoroughly low-latency technology was transforming the business, Ross took the CEO job at alternative trading systems firm PDQ Enterprises in 2006. Technology visionary Christopher Keith, a former New York Stock Exchange CTO, had founded Glenview, Illinois–based PDQ in 2003. A liquidity-aggregation patent he obtained in 2008 is at the heart of the PDQ ATS, which launched in 2009 and, through both internally generated volume and PDQ’s routing business, is executing about 1.5 percent of all stock trades. PDQ’s contribution to trading innovation, Ross explains, is a “pause” feature that allows for a better read on the market: It halts an order for 20 milliseconds to build a “minibook” where responses to a proposed trade can be listed in a price-time ranking. “Before electronic trading you could go to the specialist post,” says Ross, 61. “He’d give some color on where the buyers and sellers were, and a broker could gather information and find out the state of the market.” Modern trading makes getting that read and color more complicated, and technology has introduced new problems, such as layering and spoofing. “If you reverse the flow, so to speak, and start with the ‘What is the market?’ question, it re-creates what I would call floor competition and puts the person who’s initiating the order back in the driver’s seat,” Ross says. PDQ’s generic offering is a 20-millisecond pause, but it also offers a five-millisecond pause and expects to roll out a 30-second pause later this year.


 2016 Trading Technology 40Click below to view profiles
1. Raymond Tierney IIIBloomberg2. Richard PragerBlackRock3. Chris IsaacsonBATS Global Markets4. Jonathan RossKCG Holdings5. Bradley PetersonNasdaq
6. Brad LevyMarkit7. Dan KeeganCiti8. Ronald DePoaloFidelity Institutional9. Raj MahajanGoldman Sachs Group10. Ari StudnitzerCME Group
11. Mayur KapaniIntercontinental Exchange12. Gerald O’ConnellCBOE Holdings13. Nicholas ThemelisMarketAxess Holdings14. Gil MandelzisEBS BrokerTec (ICAP)15. Bill Chow and Richard LeungHong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
16. Rob ParkIEX Group17. Philip WeisbergThomson Reuters18. John Mackay (Mack) GillMillenniumIT19. Robert CornishInternational Securities Exchange20. Paul HamillCitadel Securities
21. Eric NollConvergex22. Tyler Moeller and Joshua WalskyBroadway Technology23. Rishi NangaliaREDI Holdings24. Veronica AugustssonCinnober Financial Technology25. Alasdair HaynesAquis Exchange
26. Manoj NarangMana Partners27. Gaurav SuriArcesium28. Robert SloanS3 Partners29. Anton Katz and Stephen MockAQR Capital Mgmt30. Stu TaylorAlgomi
31. D. Keith Ross Jr.PDQ Enterprises32. Donal ByrneCorvil33. Alfred EskandarPortware34. R. Cromwell CoulsonOTC Markets Group35. Masayuki HosakaRakuten
36. Peter Maragos and David KaratDash Financial37. Amar KuchinadElectronifie38. Jennifer NayarSR Labs39. Dave SnowdonMetamako40. Dan RajuTradier