Here Are the Winners of II’s 2018 Hedge Fund Awards

Institutional Investor has named 2018’s top hedge fund managers and investors, honoring two professionals with lifetime achievement awards.

Alicia McElhaney/Institutional Investor

Alicia McElhaney/Institutional Investor

Institutional Investor announced the winners of its annual hedge fund industry awards during a ceremonial dinner Thursday night at the Mandarin Oriental in New York.

Daniel Loeb’s Third Point won hedge fund manager of the year, beating a pool of finalists that included Canyon Partners, Citadel, Millennium Management, and TCI Fund Management. Suvretta Capital Management took top honors for emerging manager, while Blackstone Group won the category for large fund-of-hedge-funds manager. Silver Creek Capital Management was named the best boutique manager of funds of hedge funds.

II also recognized investment consultants, hedge fund investors such as pensions and endowments, and individuals for their outstanding contributions to hedge fund industry. Lifetime achievement awards went to Elaine Crocker, president of Moore Capital Management, and David Villa, chief investment officer of State of Wisconsin Investment Board.

The winners of other hedge fund industry categories are listed below.

Sovereign Wealth Fund of the Year: Alaska Permanent Fund Corp.

Hedge Fund Consultant of the Year: Gregory Dowling, Fund Evaluation Group


Corporate Plan of the Year: Boeing Co.

Endowment of the Year: University of Texas Investment Management Co.

Foundation of the Year: MacArthur Foundation

Health Care System of the Year: Children’s Health (Dallas)

Insurance Investor of the Year: MetLife

Large Public Plan of the Year: Texas Municipal Retirement System

Small Public Plan of the Year: Orange County Employees Retirement System

Outsourced CIO of the Year: Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Hedge Fund GP Investor of the Year: Blackstone Group

Equity-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Tiger Global Management

Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Napier Park Global Capital

Hybrid Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Viking Global Opportunities

Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Elliott Management Corp.

Relative-Value Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: One William Street Capital Management

Activist Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: TCI Fund Management

Event-Driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Elliott Management

Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Pharo Management

Quantitative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year: Renaissance Technologies

See the 2018 rising stars and the pools of finalists on II’s Hedge Fund Industry Awards website.