This content is from: Innovation

5th Annual Public Fund Awards

The Missouri State Employees Retirement System was named Savviest Public Plan of the Year at an awards ceremony and dinner on Sunday April 2, 2006.

The Missouri State Employees Retirement System was named Savviest Public Plan of the Year at an awards ceremony and dinner on Sunday April 2 at the Hyatt Lake Las Vegas Resort, Spa and Casino. Three other pension funds were honored as part of MML's 5th Annual Public Pension Fund Awards. The Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board was named Large Public Plan of the Year, the San Diego County Employees Retirement Association won the Medium Public Plan of the Year award and the Jacksonville (Fla.) Police & Fire Pension Fund was named Small Public Plan of the Year.

In addition Stephen Nesbitt, ceo of Cliffwater LLC, took Consultant of the Year honors and Doug Angstrom, managing director—U.S. institutional, public funds at Goldman Sachs Asset Management, won the Marketer of the Year award. Bond Manager of the Year honors went to PIMCOThornburg Investment Management claimed the Equity Manager of the Year accolade and Bridgewater Associates scooped the Alternatives Manager of the Year title. The dinner kicked off with a tribute to William Sharpe, professor of finance, emeritus, at Stanford University's Graduate School of Business and the winner of MML's Lifetime Achievement Award.

The large and small plan awards were based on investment performance, innovation and notable asset allocation moves. The savviest plan award was judged based on sophistication, investment knowledge and receptiveness to new ideas. The marketer award was based on assets gathered last year, client service, and knowledge and understanding of the public fund market place. The consultant award recognized client service, knowledge and understanding of public funds, and advice that has enabled clients to improve returns and/or reduce risk. The awards for asset managers were based on performance, volume of public fund mandates won last year and client service.

To view photos from the 5th Annual Public Fund Awards,click here.

>> Savviest Public Plan of the Year:
Missouri State Employees' Retirement System

>> Large Public Plan of the Year:
Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board

>> Medium Public Plan of the Year:
San Diego County Employees Retirement Association

>> Small Public Plan of the Year:
Jacksonville Police & Fire Pension Fund

>> Equity Manager of the Year:
Thornburg Investment Management

>> Bond Manager of the Year:

>> Alternatives Manager of the Year:
Bridgewater Associates

>> Public Plan Consultant of the Year:
Stephen Nesbitt, ceo, Cliffwater LLC

>> Public Fund Marketer of the Year:
Doug Angstrom, Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Related Content