This content is from: Portfolio

The 2015 Tech 50: Sunil Hirani

The trueEX Group CEO debuts at No. 35 on this year’s Tech 50 ranking.

Sunil Hirani
Chief Executive Officer
trueEX Group

When mandatory electronic swaps trading began in earnest early last year, there were more than 20 swap execution facilities, venues that emerged to meet postcrisis transparency and clearing requirements. Today there are fewer than ten; most are run by brokerages like ICAP that historically dominated swaps trading or by electronic execution titans like Bloomberg and Tradeweb Markets. An exception is trueEX Group, which billed itself as “the first Dodd-Frank-compliant swaps exchange” in September 2012, when it obtained Designated Contract Market status for interest rate swaps from the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. SEF approval came a year later, and today the 45-employee New York firm, founded by Sunil Hirani, captures 5.7 percent of overall SEF volume and as much as 15 percent of the Bloomberg- and Tradeweb-dominated half of the market that deals directly with the buy side. “We’re providing choice to consumers in a market that’s dominated by incumbents,” says CEO Hirani, a onetime Lockheed software engineer who came out of Deutsche Bank’s derivatives group in the late 1990s to co-found the pioneering credit default swaps platform Creditex Group, which Intercontinental Exchange bought in 2008 for $513 million. The 48-year-old attributes trueEX’s success to its focus on nondollar, nonstandard swaps. “The world is episodic; the world is custom — you need to give people flexibility,” he says. Last year Hirani and Donald Wilson, CEO of Chicago-based DRW Trading Group, co-founded Digital Asset Holdings, which in March named former JPMorgan Chase & Co. executive Blythe Masters as CEO to lead its development of blockchain technology for transaction settlements. The two ventures “complement each other,” Hirani says, and can do much to “enhance the security, speed and efficiency” of derivatives trading.

See the full story, “The 2015 Tech 50: Racers to the Edge.”

The 2015 Tech 50

1. Jeffrey Sprecher
Intercontinental Exchange
2. Catherine Bessant
Bank of America Corp.
3. Phupinder Gill
CME Group
4. Lance Uggla
5. Robert Goldstein
6. Shawn Edwards &
Vlad Kliatchko
7. R. Martin Chavez
Goldman Sachs Group
8. Deborah Hopkins
Citi Ventures
9. Stephen Neff
Fidelity Investments
10. Adena Friedman
Nasdaq OMX Group
11. David Craig
Thomson Reuters
12. Daniel Coleman
KCG Holdings
13. Michael Spencer
14. Michael Bodson
Depository Trust & Clearing Corp.
15. Charles Li
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
16. Chris Concannon
BATS Global Markets
17. Christopher Perretta
State Street Corp.
18. Antoine Shagoury
London Stock Exchange Group
19. Kevin Rhein
Wells Fargo & Co.
20. Neil Katz
D.E. Shaw & Co.
21. Lee Olesky
Tradeweb Markets
22. Richard McVey
MarketAxess Holdings
23. Seth Merrin
Liquidnet Holdings
24. Robert Alexander
Capital One Financial Corp.
25. Frank Bisignano
First Data Corp.
26. John Marcante
Vanguard Group
27. Joseph Squeri
28. Lou Eccleston
TMX Group
29. Claude Honegger
Credit Suisse
30. Chris Corrado
31. David Gledhill
DBS Bank
32. John Bates
Software AG
33. Michael Cooper
BT Radianz
34. Gary Scholten
Principal Financial Group
35. Sunil Hirani
trueEX Group
36. Hauke Stars
Deutsche BÖrse
37. Brian Conlon
First Derivatives
38. Jim Minnick
39. Lars Seier Christensen & Kim Fournais
40. Tyler Kim
41. Jim McGuire
Charles Schwab Corp.
42. Steven O'Hanlon
43. Sebastián Ceria
44. Yasuki Okai
NRI Holdings America
45. Stephane Dubois
46. Mazy Dar
47. Brian Sentance
Xenomorph Software
48. Mas Nakachi
49. John Lehner
BNY Mellon Technology Solutions Group
50. Jock Percy

Related Content