This content is from: Portfolio

The 2016 Trading Technology 40: Stu Taylor

No. 30 Stu Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, Algomi

Stu Taylor
Chief Executive Officer
Last year: 33

Formed in 2012, Algomi was a novel fixed-income start-up. Rather than further crowd the field of e-trading platforms, CEO Stu Taylor and co-founders Robert Howes (the firm’s COO), Usman Khan (CTO) and Michael Schmidt (chairman) built a networking engine to support sales and trading with pertinent data and analytics. Young though it is, the London-based company has changed course technologically: The late-2014 release of Honeycomb transformed Algomi from a peddler of technology running on bank premises into a live-network operation. The reaction? As of February, 15 dealers and 160 buy-side firms, including 75 of the 100 biggest in fixed income, were on board. That was up from only two buy-side firms at the start of 2015. “Honeycomb gives investors eyes and ears into the world’s dealing floors,” says Taylor, 43, who in 2010, as UBS’s global head of matched principal trading in fixed income, launched the PIN-FI platform for bonds and credit default swaps. A buy-side firm can rely on Honeycomb to identify the best dealer for a given bond transaction, regardless of how frequently the issue trades, Taylor says, adding, “Users get a continual update of a bank’s ability to move a particular bond.” Currently reporting monthly volumes exceeding $50 billion, with average inquiry size above $8 million that is typically voice-executed, Algomi has also reorganized. Its head count is 140, compared with 90 in early 2015, but it’s down from a peak of 148 in November, when Algomi put an emphasis on client service and deployment. Signaling a commitment to U.S. growth, the firm signed a ten-year lease last fall for new office space in New York City, now with 20 people and the capacity to expand to accommodate 50.

2016 Trading Technology 40

1. Raymond Tierney III
2. Richard Prager
3. Chris Isaacson
BATS Global Markets
4. Jonathan Ross
KCG Holdings
5. Bradley Peterson
6. Brad Levy
7. Dan Keegan
8. Ronald DePoalo
Fidelity Institutional
9. Raj Mahajan
Goldman Sachs Group
10. Ari Studnitzer
CME Group
11. Mayur Kapani
Intercontinental Exchange
12. Gerald O’Connell
CBOE Holdings
13. Nicholas Themelis
MarketAxess Holdings
14. Gil Mandelzis
EBS BrokerTec (ICAP)
15. Bill Chow and Richard Leung
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
16. Rob Park
IEX Group
17. Philip Weisberg
Thomson Reuters
18. John Mackay (Mack) Gill
19. Robert Cornish
International Securities Exchange
20. Paul Hamill
Citadel Securities
21. Eric Noll
22. Tyler Moeller and Joshua Walsky
Broadway Technology
23. Rishi Nangalia
REDI Holdings
24. Veronica Augustsson
Cinnober Financial Technology
25. Alasdair Haynes
Aquis Exchange
26. Manoj Narang
Mana Partners
27. Gaurav Suri
28. Robert Sloan
S3 Partners
29. Anton Katz and Stephen Mock
AQR Capital Mgmt
30. Stu Taylor
31. D. Keith Ross Jr.
PDQ Enterprises
32. Donal Byrne
33. Alfred Eskandar
34. R. Cromwell Coulson
OTC Markets Group
35. Masayuki Hosaka
36. Peter Maragos and David Karat
Dash Financial
37. Amar Kuchinad
38. Jennifer Nayar
SR Labs
39. Dave Snowdon
40. Dan Raju

Related Content