Tell Us Who Is the Best. II Calls for Nominations for the 21st Annual Hedge Fund Awards.

Now accepting nominees for Institutional Investor’s Hedge Fund Industry Awards to be held on May 8.


Illustration by II

Update: The final deadline for nominations has been extended to February 6, 2024.

Across the investment landscape, 2023 brought many challenges to investors as they spent the year navigating high inflation, high interest rates, and far-reaching global events. For many investors and managers it was a topsy-turvy year. However, volatility and uncertainty always present potential opportunities for the most talented managers and allocators to rise above the crowd with successful strategies that positioned them to stay afloat and benefit from the turbulence.

Institutional Investor will honor those that set themselves apart with superior results and unique or well-timed strategies at the 21st Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards. Held on May 8, 2024 at the Mandarin Oriental in New York, the Hedge Fund Industry Awards will honor both the top hedge fund managers and leading allocators for their work.

Call for Nominations

To start the awards process off II wants to hear from you. Tell us about the hedge fund managers and allocators that stood out to you in 2023. Anyone can anonymously nominate both managers and allocators for the awards using this form. To be considered, nominees must be submitted by January 30, 2024.

To ensure your nominees stand out, II recommends including performance numbers — which will be kept private — in the submissions. Following the nomination and vetting process, II will announce a list of finalists.

The winners of the hedge fund manager awards will then be determined by votes from limited partners and input from Institutional Investor’s team of journalists. The allocator awards, meanwhile, will be decided based on votes from investment managers and committee input.

II is also accepting nominations for this year’s Hedge Fund Rising Stars.

All winners will be announced live at the awards ceremony on May 8, along with lifetime achievement award winners.

The hedge fund management award categories include:

  • Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Equity-focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Credit-focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Activist Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Event-driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Quantitative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Most Innovative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year
  • Hedge Fund Rising Star

The hedge fund allocator award categories include:

  • Public Plan of the Year
  • Corporate/Insurance Plan of the Year
  • Endowment of the Year
  • Foundation of the Year
  • Family Office of the Year
  • Health Care System of the Year
  • Sovereign Wealth Fund of the Year
  • Outsourced Investor of the Year
  • Hedge Fund Consultant of the Year

You can nominate qualifying organizations in any of the above categories here. Deadline extended to February 6, 2024.

This year’s winners will be in good company. Last year II honored Citadel as the Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year as the firm generated its biggest gains in more than a decade. Citadel also brought home the title of Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year. Top public plan went to Utah Retirement Systems, while Eastman Kodak Co. walked away with Corporate/Insurance Plan of the Year. Top endowment was awarded to Texas Tech University. Other honorees included Carnegie Corp. of New York, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and UBS Hedge Fund Solutions.

If you would like to attend the event or become a sponsor, please visit the events side of the business and click here.