Announcing the Allocator Finalists for Institutional Investor’s Hedge Fund Industry Awards

Institutional Investor and Institutional Investor’s Alpha will honor the top hedge fund allocators in the business at the 15th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards dinner.


Tough times for hedge funds have not diminished the innovation and sophistication with which institutional investors, including large single-family offices and sovereign wealth funds, are allocating to these funds today.

Institutional Investor and Institutional Investor’s Alpha will honor many of those top hedge fund allocators at its 15th annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards gala dinner, being held at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in New York on Wednesday, June 21st.

Among the hedge fund allocator finalists are KAUST Investment Management Co., University of Toronto Asset Management Corp., John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Teacher Retirement System of Texas, and Korea Investment Corp. Family office nominees include Blue Pool Capital — the Alibaba-backed investment office — and Willett Advisors, Michael Bloomberg’s family office.

The finalists are selected via a stringent review process that starts with a call for nominations from the industry, followed by nominee research and review by the editorial staff, with final decisions made by an editorial review committee. Finalists will now be voted on by industry participants, with the winners to be announced on the night of the dinner. For more information about the dinner or to request a ballot, please visit the event website.

The evening also will honor Citadel founder and CEO Kenneth Griffin with the Lifetime Achievement award for hedge fund managers. Blackstone Alternative Asset Management president and CEO J. Tomilson Hill will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement award for allocators. The winners of the hedge fund manager awards will also be announced at the dinner; a complete list of manager nominees can be found here. The Hedge Fund Rising Stars, a list of 30 up-and-comers in the hedge fund industry, will be announced at the end of the month and also will be honored at the dinner.

Following is a complete list of the hedge fund allocator finalists. They can also be found on the

Hedge Fund Industry Awards website.

Corporate Plan of the Year

Delta Air Lines

The Kroger Co.

Raytheon Co.

UPS Group Trust


Endowment of the Year

Amherst College

KAUST Investment Management Co.

Texas Tech University System

University of Southern California

University of Toronto Asset Management Corp.

Foundation of the Year

Carnegie Corp. of New York

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

The David Geffen Foundation

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

W.K. Kellogg Foundation

Health Care System of the Year

Advocate Health Care

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Mount Sinai Health System


Texas Children’s Hospital

Insurance Investor of the Year

Allied World Assurance Co.

Endurance Specialty Holdings

Farmers Insurance Group

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co.

Prudential Financial

Public Plan of the Year, Large

Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

Employees Retirement System of Texas

Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board

Teacher Retirement System of Texas

State of Wisconsin Investment Board

Public Plan of the Year, Small

Colorado Fire & Police Pension Association

Orange County Employees Retirement System

St. Paul Teachers’ Retirement Fund Association

San Bernardino County Employees’ Retirement Association

West Virginia Investment Management Board

Sovereign Wealth Fund of the Year

Alaska Permanent Fund Corp.


Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Korea Investment Corp.

State Administration of Foreign Exchange

Family Office of the Year

Blue Pool Capital

Duquesne Family Office

Fredriksen Group

OW Management

Willett Advisors

Hedge Fund Consultant of the Year

Gregory Dowling, Fund Evaluation Group

Jonathan Koerner, Albourne Partners

Timothy McCusker, NEPC

Stephen Nesbitt, Cliffwater

Valérie Bénard, Aksia