Here Are the Manager Finalists for the 2023 Hedge Fund Industry Awards

Allocators are now invited to vote for the winners, who will be announced May 11.

Illustration by II

Illustration by II

There were plenty of losers in 2022, as stocks plummeted and bond markets broke down in the face of rising interest rates.

That just makes the winners all the more impressive.

The manager finalists for Institutional Investor’s 20th Annual Hedge Fund Industry Awards were selected out of a pool of hundreds of nominations submitted by clients, peers, and other industry professionals. These nominees were carefully vetted by II’s editorial team to produce six finalists in each category.

The hedge fund managers that are up for the most awards this year include quant firm AQR Capital Management, which came back with a vengeance in 2022 after years of disappointing performance for value stocks; Coast Capital Management, a stand-out emerging manager whose event-driven fund gained 46 percent last year; D.E. Shaw Group, which earned nods for both its flagship multistrategy fund and its macro fund Oculus; and Graham Capital Management, whose five largest funds were up by double digits after the firm correctly bet that the Federal Reserve would take aggressive action to curb inflation.

Other multi-category finalists include Citadel, Elliott Management Corp., Man AHL, Saba Capital Management, and Sona Asset Management.

Institutional asset allocators — including pension funds, endowments, foundations, healthcare funds, family offices, and sovereign wealth funds — are now invited to vote for the top managers in each category. Hedge fund managers will in turn be invited to vote for the allocator categories. Those finalists will be announced Tuesday.

The winners will be recognized at a gala dinner on May 11 at the Mandarin Oriental in New York City, where II will also recognize this year’s Hedge Fund Rising Stars and Lifetime Achievement honorees.

For more information about the dinner, please visit the event website. Qualified allocators can vote here.

The finalists are:

Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • AQR Capital Management
  • Capula Investment Management
  • Citadel
  • D.E. Shaw Group
  • Elliott Management Corp.
  • Graham Capital Management

Emerging Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Boldhaven Management
  • Coast Capital Management
  • Deep Track Capital
  • Madison Avenue Partners
  • Paradigm BioCapital Advisors
  • VantageRock Capital (Rockefeller Capital

Most Innovative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Corbin Capital Partners
  • Hildene Capital Management
  • Mackenzie Investments
  • Man AHL
  • Rosetta Analytics
  • Two Sigma Investments

Equity-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Coast Capital Management
  • Coltrane Asset Management
  • Electron Capital Partners
  • Greenlight Capital
  • Harvest Small Cap Partners
  • Sylebra Capital

Credit-Focused Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Angelo Gordon
  • Fortress
  • GoldenTree Asset Management
  • Pentwater Capital Management
  • Saba Capital Management
  • Sona Asset Management

Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • AQR Capital Management
  • Balyasny Asset Management
  • Citadel
  • D.E. Shaw Group
  • Man AHL
  • Millennium Management

Activist Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Corvex Capital
  • Engine Capital Management
  • Engine No. 1
  • JANA Partners
  • Muddy Waters Capital
  • Saba Capital Management

Event-Driven Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Coast Capital Management
  • Elliott Management Corp.
  • Kite Lake Capital
  • Kryger Capital
  • Sona Asset Management
  • Spruce Point Capital Management

Macro Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • Caxton Associates
  • D.E. Shaw Group
  • Graham Capital Management
  • Haidar Capital Management
  • Kirkoswald Asset Management
  • Rokos Capital Management

Quantitative Hedge Fund Manager of the Year

  • AQR Capital Management
  • Aspect Capital
  • Graham Capital Management
  • PGIM Wadhwani
  • Systematica Investments
  • Welton Investment Partners