Veronica Augustsson
Chief Executive Officer
Cinnober Financial Technology
Last year: 32

Founded in Stockholm in 1998, Cinnober Financial Technology made its mark in posttrade systems and gained global prominence in the postcrisis period with advances in real-time clearing for such customers as Brazil’s BM&FBovespa, the Johannesburg Stock Exchange and LME Clear in London. Veronica Augustsson, who has worked for Cinnober since 2002 and been CEO since 2012, has steered the company in new directions — notably, on the trading end, in a deal with the Australian Securities Exchange, and with surveillance technology, of which the New York Stock Exchange is a marquee user. Cinnober announced an initiative last May with CRYEX Group, a Swedish start-up awaiting regulatory approval for an exchange and clearinghouse for both conventional currencies and cryptocurrencies, including Bitcoin. Augustsson, 37, is also advocating higher quality standards for financial technology, making her case in an April 2015 white paper. “Compare the financial industry to airplanes or pharmaceuticals,” she says. “They have standards for quality. They have defined what quality is.” Once quality is defined, it can be measured and those in charge can make decisions accordingly. Augustsson contends that there often is too little information to estimate, for example, the return on a given investment in quality control. “We can’t really compare quality because we haven’t defined it,” she says. “It’s a very dangerous situation.” Augustsson hopes to convince the industry that there is a business case for defining and standardizing quality. Well-reasoned investments in prevention, she believes, will be far less costly than the outages that have plagued financial market operations in recent years.


2016 Trading Technology 40
Click below to view profiles
1. Raymond Tierney III
2. Richard Prager
3. Chris Isaacson
BATS Global Markets
4. Jonathan Ross
KCG Holdings
5. Bradley Peterson
6. Brad Levy
7. Dan Keegan
8. Ronald DePoalo
Fidelity Institutional
9. Raj Mahajan
Goldman Sachs Group
10. Ari Studnitzer
CME Group
11. Mayur Kapani
Intercontinental Exchange
12. Gerald O’Connell
CBOE Holdings
13. Nicholas Themelis
MarketAxess Holdings
14. Gil Mandelzis
EBS BrokerTec (ICAP)
15. Bill Chow and Richard Leung
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
16. Rob Park
IEX Group
17. Philip Weisberg
Thomson Reuters
18. John Mackay (Mack) Gill
19. Robert Cornish
International Securities Exchange
20. Paul Hamill
Citadel Securities
21. Eric Noll
22. Tyler Moeller and Joshua Walsky
Broadway Technology
23. Rishi Nangalia
REDI Holdings
24. Veronica Augustsson
Cinnober Financial Technology
25. Alasdair Haynes
Aquis Exchange
26. Manoj Narang
Mana Partners
27. Gaurav Suri
28. Robert Sloan
S3 Partners
29. Anton Katz and Stephen Mock
AQR Capital Mgmt
30. Stu Taylor
31. D. Keith Ross Jr.
PDQ Enterprises
32. Donal Byrne
33. Alfred Eskandar
34. R. Cromwell Coulson
OTC Markets Group
35. Masayuki Hosaka
36. Peter Maragos and David Karat
Dash Financial
37. Amar Kuchinad
38. Jennifer Nayar
SR Labs
39. Dave Snowdon
40. Dan Raju